Posted on

Brian Maher Formally Announces for NY State Assembly

Our friend Mayor Brian Maher is finally making his run for the NY Assembly official this morning! He’ll be blogging about life on the campaign trail periodically on The Right Hook. But for now, visit the website and I’ll let Brian tell you more…

[TODAY] at 11am outside of the Walden Municipal Building I will be making a formal announcement on my intent to run for New York State Assembly in the 101st District. It is something I have been looking into for over 6 months now. After redistricting was completed my campaign team and I evaluated the positives and negatives and I searched my heart and prayed on what the best decision would be for the Village of Walden, the district, and myself.

After much thought I have decided to dedicate my life for the next 5-7 months to campaigning in what looks to be the largest Assembly District created in recent memory; as well as maintaining my duties as Mayor. This district starts in Orange County and includes the Towns of Montgomery and Crawford… then goes in a straight line north and includes parts of Ulster, Sullivan, Delaware, Otsego, Herkimer, and Oneida Counties. I believe I am the best candidate to not just campaign in such a large district but represent it effectively if given the honor to serve. I have a GREAT team in Walden and have full support from my Board of Trustees. I know that Walden will not miss a beat during this campaign.

I love my home. I love the Village of Walden, Town of Montgomery, and Orange County. I love being an elected official and hope to receive 130,000 new constituents on top of the Walden residents that I have cherished representing every day for these past three years. I have said from the beginning that I always intend to represent Walden and Orange County at some capacity. I will always keep that promise.

If you are able to make it tomorrow for our formal announcement I would love to see you there. Stay tuned for more information on the campaign and please save the date for Tuesday April 17th at 6pm for our Campaign Kickoff Fundraiser which will take place at the Spruce Lodge in the Town of Montgomery.

Thank you all for your continued support! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

