Posted on

UFC 144 JAPAN: Predictions

It’s the first time the UFC has been to Japan in a really long time, and their marking the occassion with a stacked seven fight, four hour main card. While I start loading myself on caffiene now, here are my predictions.

UNDERCARD
Anthony Pettis vs. Joe Lauzon is the undercard match I’m most looking forward to. Close fight, though I can’t imagine Lauzon blowing a possible title shot so I like him to win…I also have a hard time seeing Jake Shields lose three in a row so I’ll take him over Yoshihiro AkiyamaCheick Congo over Mark HuntYushin Okami beats Tim BoetschHatsu Hioki gets the win over Bart Palaszewski

CO-MAIN EVENT
If I were to make an upset pick, it would be Ryan Bader over Rampage Jackson, and that would be my pick here…if they were fighting anywhere other than Japan. Rampage looks like he’s nearing the endish of his career, and this might be his last opportunity for fight in Japan again. For that alone, I’m taking Rampage for the win

MAIN EVENT
Frankie Edgar vs. Ben Henderson is a tough one. I’m not used to seeing Edgar fight anyone other than BJ Penn or Gray Maynard, so it’s hard to see how he matches up with anyone else. There records are similar, and while I think Edgar has had tougher opponenets (he beat Penn twice), I think Henderson is the better fighter. He’s leaving Japan as the new champion

Leave a Reply

