Posted on

Fight Like a RINO (Why I’m Dropping Out of the Presidential Race)

Yeah, so I’m done with the Presidential race. I’ll vote for our nominee, but as far as investing any of myself in the primaries, I’m out.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like my vote even matters in the first place. I live in New York. By the time we have our primary in April we’ll already know who our nominee is, and the state’s going Obama in the general no matter how much of an unmitigated disaster he is, simply because of the D after his last name.

I’ve been thinking of this for a while, and there are three key reasons why I’m tapping out:

The candidates – When I started blogging just after 2008 (once my eyes were open at just how much of a disaster John McCain was) and I started paying closer attention, I started to navigate for to the cats who were able to expound on strong conservative principles without scaring away independent/moderate voters that we need to win elections and rebuild the party. Folks like Paul Ryan, Mitch Daniels, Chris Christie, Nikki Haley, Marco Rubio, Pat Toomey, Jeb Bush, etc.

None of them are running. Instead we have Mitt Romney and a bunch of Not-Romney’s, and unlike many of my colleagues, it’s not enough for me to just be not-Romney. That’s how we wind up with candidates like Sharon Angle and Christine O’Donnell. Neither Rick Perry nor Herman Cain has shown me anything to make me think a vote for them would be that much better than a vote for Romney.

The issues – Three key issues conservatives have been debating over the past few years: entitlement reform, tax reform, and education reform. Education has barely been touched, debate on entitlements has begun and ended on the words “ponzi scheme,” and while a few of the candidates have impressive plans, all you hear aboot taxes from the candidates themselves is that “they don’t like them.”

John Kerry – I’m beginning to understand how some of my Democrat fans felt in 2004 where you had a President that should have easily been beaten, yet nominated the one guy who couldn’t…and was the best of a bad bunch in the first place. Who needs the heartache?

That’s why I’m just going to let everyone fight amongst themselves, and instead focus on local races. Here in NY we have a one vote majority in the State Senate to expand on, at least two Congressional seats we should have won in 2010, plus a buddy of mine who is running for Assembly. If sure if you are as fed up with our Presidential candidate as I am, you have similar local fights you can focus your energy on in your state.

Nudge me when we have a nominee.

P.S. Of course like any good RINO, I’d be happy to change my mind for whatever reason in the future.

One response to “Fight Like a RINO (Why I’m Dropping Out of the Presidential Race)

  1. Pingback: For my 20,000th Tweet, I’m Endorsing Newt Gingrich for President « JoHNBRoDiGaNDoTCoM

Leave a Reply

